Tuesday, November 8, 2016

The Oval Office : From Year to Year

In honor of this big day for our country, we thought we'd throw it back a few years... take the focus off the politics for a second, a discover the design of some of the major changes that took place in the oval office from president to president!

1909 - William Howard Taft. 
Green on green here was the scheme

1933- Franklin D Roosevelt
He redecorated with a blue green rug and new drapery

1953 - Dwight D. Eisenhower 
A big change from the bold colors to a more muted gray scheme with reds 

1963 - Lyndon B. Johnson
During Kennedy's term, he changed the rug to red, and Johnson kept with this trend adding a new desk and lighter curtains

1969 - Richard Nixon
From one extreme to the other, now we have gold drapes and a bright blue rug!

1977 - Jimmy Carter
Maybe one of the most subdued and classic designs of all

1989 - George Bush Sr
Went back to the blue scheme

1996 - Bill Clinton
Throwing it back to the Nixon era with the gold drapes and blue rug

2005 - George Bush Jr
The flooring was replaced during this term to a cross pattern of oak and walnut. He chose the sunburst rug and creams for his decor.

2010 - Barack Obama
Neutrals, tans and browns were used with the seal on the rug 

What will our next President decide to do with this historic office??
Don't forget to make your mark today and VOTE!

Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.